Two Sides to Positivity

Image

 

Artwork by ShyyBoyy (http://shyyboyy.deviantart.com/)

Now, when people tell me to be more positive or to behave more positively, I generally get irritated and that’s usually because I don’t like it when someone tells me I should be a certain way. That’s not to say that I don’t like getting constructive criticism, it’s that saying something like “be more positive” really isn’t very helpful. I think that it’s more important to be able to see all aspects of life as something interesting be it depression, sadness or even anger. Everything has some sort of aspect that you can learn from or unlearn. If you focus too much on only the good things in life, it becomes really hard to tolerate the bad things whenever they come.

 
That being said, I think that a “positive” attitude is actually a good thing, but just misunderstood. If you pull away any sort of new age aspects about positive and negative energy, it’ll be a lot easier to understand this. Because it’s frighteningly simple. It’s just a choice. You can either sit in your car and complain about traffic all day, or you can think of it as “me” time or as a test of your patience (which works like a muscle). To me, it’s not really about being either positive or negative all the time, but what you can do that makes a situation more beneficial to you. Which is usually being more positive (but not always).
 
I understand that sometimes it takes different wording to really understand a concept and so, here’s a link to a guy who talks about the same thing, but in a different way. (No, I didn’t belligerently steal this idea from him :P)
 
Enjoy!
Till next time… 
Leave a Reply

